← All articles

Buvard vs anki-decks.com

September 7, 2026 · 3 min read

Two flashcard generators for Anki, the same promise, two opposite ways of counting. Here are the numbers.

anki-decks.com limits and prices taken from their public pricing page on 7 September 2026.

The table

anki-decks.com Basic anki-decks.com Pro anki-decks.com Ultimate Buvard Free Buvard Pro
Price free $5/month yearly $12/month yearly free €9 for a month, €5.75 on the 12-month pass
Decks per month 4 50 200 4 unlimited
Cards per deck not stated not stated not stated 300 (600 a month) 1,500
Characters per document 25,000 200,000 400,000 300,000 300,000
Pages per document 10 100 200 no limit no limit
Exhaustive mode no no no yes yes
Auto-renewal yes yes yes no no

Three differences that matter

They count decks, we count cards. Fifty decks a month is fifty tokens — whether a deck holds ten cards or three hundred. On forty-card chapters, their Pro plan tops out at two thousand cards a month. Buvard Pro gives six thousand, and a generation that comes out wrong only costs the cards it produced.

The whole document, or its first hundred pages. Their Pro plan stops at a hundred pages and two hundred thousand characters. Buvard takes three hundred thousand, with no page ceiling. The three-hundred-page glossary from your course goes through whole on our side; on theirs it takes the $144-a-year plan.

Exhaustive mode. A generator samples: you give it forty pages, it keeps what it judges important, and three weeks later you find half the letter P has vanished. Buvard has a setting that makes one card per notion across the entire document. An eleven-hundred-entry glossary comes back as eleven hundred cards. None of anki-decks.com's limits is expressed as coverage — they are all pages, characters or decks.

A pass, not a subscription

anki-decks.com renews itself. Buvard sells passes of one, three, six or twelve months, paid once: nothing to cancel, no month billed in July because you forgot. At the end the account drops back to free and the decks you already generated stay exportable.

Prices in euros, French publisher, GDPR and French law. No conversion, no claim to pursue abroad.

Where anki-decks.com is better

  • image occlusion: masking regions of an anatomy plate. Decisive in medicine, and we do not have it;
  • video and YouTube, up to twenty minutes per video on their Pro plan;
  • more formats: PowerPoint, Excel, EPUB, audio;
  • files up to 100 MB, against 25 on our side;
  • thirteen interface languages, against four.

Which to pick

You revise text — lecture notes, PDFs, glossaries, lists, past papers — and you want all of the document to become cards: Buvard.

You revise diagrams, video or slide decks: anki-decks.com.

Either way the export is .apkg and your cards end up in Anki, on your own schedule.

Create your first deck for free — four decks a month, no card required.